European Patent Litigators Association


EPLIT (European Patent Litigators Association) is the association for European Patent Attorneys who may act before the Unified Patent Court (UPC). Most of EPLIT’s members meet the requirements to qualify as representatives before the UPC. Other legal practitioners, such as attorneys-at-law or nationally qualified patent attorneys, are also among EPLIT’s membership.

Our objectives

1Promoting the participation and standing of European Patent Attorneys in the UPC system

2Promoting user-friendly, fair, efficient and cost-effective patent litigation in Europe, particularly before the UPC

3Improving information exchange and relationships between our members

4Establishing and maintaining relations with official or private national and international IP organizations

Statutes of cooperation

Our achievements

We have

  • organized mock trials under the rules of the UPC with experienced patent judges
  • corresponded with the government of the UK encouraging it to ratify the UPC Agreement
  • corresponded with EU authorities and EU member states with the aim to find a solution for the UK to remain within the UPC Agreement
  • proposed a draft Code of Conduct for representatives before the UPC in cooperation with epi and EPLAW
  • filed a submission before the German Federal Constitutional Court regarding the pending complaint on compatibility of the UPC with the German constitution
  • participated in the consultation and hearing on the revision of the Rules of Procedure of the Boards of Appeal of the EPO

Annual meetings

We organize annual meetings with high-level presentations relating to the UPC and national litigation practices in major cities across Europe, such as Paris, Amsterdam, Milan, and Vienna.

The Board

  • Leythem Wall (UK) – President
  • Henri Bourgeois (FR) – Treasurer
  • Daniël Alge (AT)
  • Giuseppe Colucci (IT)
  • Kim Finnilä (FI)
  • Christian Köster (DE)
  • Bernard Ledeboer (NL)
  • Patrick Marollé (FR)
  • Kay Rupprecht (DE)
  • Lucy Samuels (UK)

Former Board members

  • Rainer Beetz LL.M. (AT)
  • Koen Bijvank LL.M. (NL)
  • Brigitte Böhm (DE)
  • Ole Bokinge (SE)
  • Chris Mercer (UK)
  • Alain Michelet (FR)
  • Micaela Modiano (IT)
  • Eugen Popp (DE)
  • Ferenc Török (HU)
  • Patrice Vidon (FR)

Working groups

Members of EPLIT are active in one or more Working Groups. Currently, EPLIT has seven Working Groups:

  • Substantive Law
  • Qualification
  • Cost of Procedure
  • Code of Conduct
  • Privilege
  • Education and Training
  • Procedural Law
European Patent Litigators Association